top of page
  • Writer's pictureMac Bane

The path least chosen.

“Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.”- Ralph Waldo Emerson.




{Baltimore MD - Bane House - “Maggie’s Birthday” - The Conclusion Part 1}


Three flags; the United States of America, and the states of Maryland and Texas all flapped and snapped in the morning breeze from brackets I had installed when I first moved in. I adore the sound of them popping as the breeze picks up. A six foot long trailer rested in the driveway, smoke pouring out of it as a strong fire roared within. The sun was just starting to peak above the horizon, to begin its journey, bathing me in it’s warmth as it started to burn off the morning dew that covered the grass like a soft wet blanket. I sat nearby to make sure the fire didn't go out, Jimmy and Jules were in the kitchen working on vegetable preparation for their signature dishes. I had put the brisket and ribs on a couple of hours ago, while others slept. That was fine with me, the early morning hours were my solace. This was the time of the day when it was most quiet, it gave me time to think about and plan the way forward. My mind was always in motion, how to grow my brand more, how to make sure my family was safe and comfortable. Not to mention Amber, good god I love that woman. I never thought for a moment that I could find a love like this in my lifetime. I never thought I deserved someone like her.


My train of thought is broken as a white Hyundai Veloster pulled up along the street. It’s far too early for this bullshit, I think to myself as the homeowners association representatives pour out of the vehicle.


“I’ve often wondered how many clowns you could fit in one of those things.”, I remark as they begin their approach.


She was roughly five foot tall, a little overweight but not terribly so. She was in her early thirties with a pixie cut. You’d think her name was Karen but it was actually Felicity. With her were her two friends from the homeowners association. The tall blonde woman’s name was Carla and beside her was the redhead by the name of Cassidy.


“Good morning Ladies.”


I greet them civilly as I raise my coffee cup in salute to their arrival. It’s almost as if there are connected via Bluetooth as they all frown at me in unison.


“Do y’all do everything in stereo?”.


I shake my head in dismay as Felicity crosses her arms and glares at me. The comment obviously went over her head but I’m a patient man so I waited for her to start tearing me a new one over the smoker and the flags. Then the unthinkable happened, the bitch smiled as did her cohorts.


“Good morning Mac, thank you so much for the invitation to Miss Maggie’s birthday party later today. We really appreciate you including us.”


I return her smile, it’s hard to issue someone a warning if you are partaking in the festivities. It’s not impossible but it’s really tough, Felicity isn’t that bright, but she’s nice enough most days.


“Of course! I’m so glad you can all make it for the party. I wouldn’t be a very good neighbor if I didn’t invite you over for Maggie’s party.”


From my left and behind me, on cue I hear the garage door coming up as Jimmy has decided to make an appearance. He rolls out the coffee station, which also has some pastries on it.


“Oh, good morning Ladies.”


My son is a lot of things, but he’s also extremely polite. I watched as he wheels the coffee bar out onto the driveway and started making their coffee for them. I can barely stifle a laugh as they ogled him.


“He’s free to a good home.”



The laughter from the ladies and Jimmy’s embarrassment really makes my morning. I smile as my son glares at me. The soft baritone voice of Jefferson McClintok then reached my ears as Maggie and Jefferson had come though the side gate.


“I always wanted to know how it was done.”


I smile up at Jefferson, then stand up to shake his hand.


“Jefferson, sorry pal, I felt it would be inhumane to wake a guest up at four in the morning.”


He barks a laugh.



“I appreciate that Mac, I really do. You’ll have to explain the process sometime.”


“Of course, no family secrets mind you but I’d be glad to teach.”


I give Maggie a hug.


“Oh Mac, it smells wonderful. You have all gone to so much trouble.”


I smile at my longtime friend, gently patting her on the shoulder.


“You’re worth it Maggs.”.

Fade.


***



{Baltimore MD - Bane House - “Maggie’s Birthday” - The Conclusion Part 2 - Several Hours Later}


The power of thirty voices singing “Happy Birthday”, mostly off key and out of time, is pretty amazing. The dogs out in the backyard were chiming in to make sure Maggie knew they were happy for her too. I would have thought the neighbors would complain but they were standing in my dining room presently, also singing badly. She blew out the single candle that said, “50” on it and everyone applauded. Amber and I hung out toward the back of the room. We wanted Maggie to enjoy the spotlight, today was a milestone birthday for her. Amber kept nudging me in the ribs and I finally caught on that she wanted to tell me something. What can I say? I’m a little dense sometimes. She grabs the front of my shirt and pulls me down to where she can whisper.


“Did you see the size of that rock she’s wearing?”


I chuckle softly.


“Jealous?”


She immediately releases the front of my shirt.


“Yes, I saw it, my love.”


With a smirk she crosses her arms and leans back into me. Maggie stood up and the crowd grew quiet. I had wondered what was next for Maggie, she had told me she had a couple of things she was working on. She had received her retirement check with back pay and interest. Which was amazing, I’ve rarely seen them do this without a lawyer pushing or leaning on them. So, I guess we were about to find out.


“Ladies, gentlemen, friends, family. Thank you so very much for this wonderful day. A day full of laughter and tears of joy. Jefferson and I have some announcements to make. He and I have taken the first steps in creating a foundation for the homeless and homeless veterans alike. We’ll be based out of Baltimore and against my better judgement, I’ve okayed the name that Jefferson came up with.”


Everyone laughed at the last part as Jefferson stood up.


“I told her that it should be called “Maggie’s Way”.”


He sits back down and the laughter continues, along with the applause. Maggie continued.


“Maggie’s Way will be a shelter and resource center. The most important part is that we break ground in the spring.”


Everyone applauded in earnest, truly amazed at what they had accomplished. Jefferson stood back up, evidently he had an announcement of his own.


“We are also proud to announce.”


He stops as he grabs Maggie’s hand, raising it up for all to see the three carat diamond engagement ring.


“Miss Maggie Fletcher and I are engaged to be married.”


I made a mental note to myself to do something about the acoustics in the dining room, the echoes of the absolute joy that erupted from everyone's mouths was almost thunderous. I simply smiled as she and Jefferson soaked it in. I had taken to Jefferson right away, he was one of those community leaders that volunteered every chance he got. He enjoyed feeding the homeless and sharing with those far less fortunate than himself. There were many black leaders that had done the same thing, although not with the same level of dedication that Jefferson had shown. He cared deeply and it showed, and not just when it was convenient. The number of pro bono cases he had taken on as a defense attorney. I often wondered how the man made a living. That being said, I had no doubts that he would take very good care of Maggie. I made my way to where they sat and offered my congratulations to them. I hugged them both.


“We are so happy for you two, I don’t know if I can put it into words.”


Maggie with her eyes full of tears simply smiled at me.


“When are you going to do the same?”


She said it softly, so i don’t think anyone else heard the question.


“Baby steps my friend.”


I smiled at her and rejoined Amber.


Fade.


***



{Baltimore MD - Bane House - “Where in the world was Aeric Bane?”}


The birthday party for Maggie was now slowing down. I sat outside with Amber to watch the sunset, and it was then that I saw the light glint on something in the front yard near the sidewalk. I released her hand as I rose.



“I’ll be right back.”


I stepped out into the yard and as I got closer, I recognized that it was a cell phone. I picked it up and it had the crooked M emblem on it. On the back though, it was monogrammed with “AB” in old english style script.


“What is it?”


Came the call from the front porch, I was slapping the phone against my hand as I approached. Jimmy had stepped out onto the porch to have a cigarette just as I was back on the front porch. I tossed the phone to him.


“That’s the reason your brother isn’t getting his calls.”


I said it in a flat tone, no anger, no malice, just stating simple fact.


“I want you to go find him, he’s got some explaining to do.”


Same tone, Jimmy of course gets it immediately.


“Will do Pop.”.


“Wait? Aeric hasn’t been to your new place has he?”


Amber had asked the question in a quiet, contemplative way but in a voice that carried sorrow as well. I look over at her and smile.


“No, he had not. Someone else had though. Jynx Hexxen had dropped Zephyr on my front porch a few weeks ago.”


Amber and Jimmy now both looked mortified. I had just clarified what I’m sure the suspicion had already been.


“Jimmy, when you find him, I want to know what kind of shape he’s in. I just want to make sure he’s okay. Don’t let on that I have any clue as to what he’s been up to. I want him to have the chance to tell me himself.”


Jimmy nods his head with a quick and sharp motion.


“Got it.”






Fade.


***



“Well, well, well. Look at you Chuckles and your myopic view of all the things. I did watch your promo, a tribute to lies and things that don’t matter. Other than that, the thing that stuck out most in my mind was the fact that you didn’t allow Maggie to say anything. All CJ’s perspective, because that’s all that matters right? At least to you. What if I told you, CJ, that what you think of me or my family doesn’t matter, not even a little bit. Have you ever heard the phrase that in order for me to be insulted, I’d first have to value your opinion?


I did accuse you of using Maggie Lockheart as a pawn and I also know that you got more than a little butt hurt about me saying that. You couldn’t just come out and say, “yeah, but…”, it’s all the rage in this country right now. As far as my being self righteous, that’s cute coming from a guy who made a career out of it. First of all, to be self righteous, first and foremost you have to deal in or believe in absolutes.


In order to be self righteous, you have to believe in an unfounded ideal without reservation. That your belief is the only one that is correct or morally superior. I don’t think I’m capable of that level of arrogance. I leave that type of behavior to people like you CJ. I have way too much at stake to fall to that level of laziness. I will give you credit though Charlie. You managed somehow through all that drivel on social media to actually get one thing absolutely correct. I would without a doubt, without a thought given, drop everything for Amber Ryan. When you love someone, that’s what you do. Again, I don’t expect you to understand that. I think when you look in the mirror, that person you see is the only one that you’ve ever loved.


As far as you invoking Amber’s name goes. See, here’s the thing, Amber and KJ can call themselves shitty people all they want to. No one else has a right to say it to them or about them. KJ and Lucy, I consider them beyond friends of mine, they are almost like family. Unfortunately for you and your minion, any time someone verbally or physically accousts a member of my family. Well, you won’t like the ending. It’s not the stuff of fairy tales.


Love of self and confidence in your abilities is one thing. Even in your current crippled state, you still believe that you are smarter and better than everyone else. You have no humility, no one has ever been able to say to me that you have a single redeeming quality. That’s a sad realization for a person to have isn’t it? That’s the kind of thing that causes people to die in the most horrible way possible. What might that be? Just like it says in your yearbook from high school CJ. Most likely to die old, bitter and alone. I would say that I feel sorry for you, but that would be a lie, you take despicable to a whole other level. There is someone I do feel sorry for though.


Maggie Lockheart, after a fashion. It’s hard not to, I mean look at what happened to her. She gets her skull cracked open by Fucking Myra of all people and loses the Ultra Violent Championship. She’s out of action, and no one bothers to check on her. It’s actually one of the few things that CJ spouted off about that was true. I could make excuses for the entire roster about this being a busy life or any number of other things. That would hardly be fair or accurate. What happened to Maggie happens a lot in this business. People get hurt, they’re on the shelf and unless they are as close as family, people in the business don’t check up on each other. It’s a sad state of affairs. As the old saying goes, it is what it is. Maggie you had two options, you could have either gotten over it and come back to work once you were healthy. Option number two was to go somewhere else and start over with a clean slate.


You chose option number three. It was a bad choice lady, it’s led you to this point. This confrontation with me. Title on the line or not Maggs, I approach every match like it’s a world title match. The Baltimore City Championship may not mean anything to you or CJ but it matters to me and the people I represent. The heritage of Carnage that I represent. I’ve done something here that only two other people have done. Sam Action and Aries Reed, do you know what they did? They defended The Baltimore City Championship three times. I’m only the third person in the history of Carnage to do that.


Furthermore Maggs, I’m not a copy of anyone. I’m the real fucking deal. One hundred percent grade “A”, Texas Bad ass. You can pretend like imitating something someone else did is high praise or flattery but the real truth is that being original will always trump that lazy shit girl. So, get ready for a ride like you’ve never experienced before. It always ends the same, with Texas Heat."






30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page